iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad Apps Search Engine
iPhone Apps Users Community
Advanced search | Example: action games
iPhone apps

The Galton Case (by Ross Macdonald)

The Galton Case (by Ross Macdonald)
  • #: 6154
  • Price: $9.99 In Apple Store
  • Category: Books
  • Updated: 2010-11-16
  • Current Version: 1.5
  • 1.5
  • Size: 172.00 MB
  • Language: English
  • Seller: Blackstone Audio, Inc
  • Requirements: Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 3.2 or later
  • Copyright©2009-2010 Blackstone Audio. Portions copyright©2009-2010 by Folium Partners.
  •  Add to Favorite apps

 

Description

THE GALTON CASE by Ross Macdonald (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see FEATURES, below).

“Exciting, beautifully plotted, and written with taste, perception and compassion.” (New York Times Book Review)

Almost twenty years have passed since Anthony Galton disappeared, along with a suspiciously streetwise bride and several thousand dollars of his family’s fortune. Now Anthony’s aging and very rich mother has hired Lew Archer to find him. What turns up is a headless skeleton, a boy who claims to be Galton’s son, and a con game whose stakes are so high that someone is still willing to kill for them. Deliciously devious and tersely poetic, The Galton Case displays Ross Macdonald at the pinnacle of his form.

Self-contained, this audiobook app is perfect for your commute, on a trip, or while relaxing. Based on a library-quality recording, this app was built especially for your iPhone and iPod Touch. No unreadable text, no endless scrolling on a tiny screen. The audio is of higher-than-normal quality, making for a great listening experience that will not tire your ears or grate on your nerves.

NOTICE: This app includes the exact same 5-star recording offered elsewhere at much higher prices. It was professionally recorded by Blackstone Audio’s Audie® Award-winning narrator, Grover Gardner. You are not buying yet another amateur or volunteer narration. No clicks, background noises, throat clearing, mispronunciations, tinny voices or monotones will be found here.

“A model of intelligently engineered excitement.” (New Yorker)

• EXPERIENCE. About 7 hours of narration. Created as a Folium enhancedAudio™ edition, this book includes extra functions and features not found on lesser players.

• PLAYER CONTROLS. Includes listen (play), pause, multi-speed fast forward/reverse, jump ahead/back, chapter skip, volume control, one-touch chapter- and bookmark browser. There is also a “scrub” bar that finds any point inside the chapter with just a tap.

• SLEEP TIMER. Have you ever fallen asleep watching TV or listening to a book? If so, you'll love this feature. Once set, the book will stop, place a bookmark, and allow you to jump back to where you probably began dozing.

• CLEAR & ELEGANT DESIGN. Simple, clean, intuitive, and smarter than average.

• CHAPTER TIMINGS. Always know how much time it will take to finish a chapter. Plus, the progress bar at the top of the screen shows how far into the book you’ve come.

• OFFLINE LISTENING. You are airplane-ready! Once downloaded, listen uninterrupted without threat from a lost network connection. Downloads are usually just 5-10 minutes, but depend upon your network speed.

• AUTO-BOOKMARKING. The player remembers where you stopped listening and returns to that exact spot when you open the book again.

• TELL-A-FRIEND. An easy way to recommend the book to your friends or Twitter feed.

• FEEDBACK. Share your ideas for books, functions, and features. We are very responsive to our listeners and appreciate all feedback and ideas.

RATING: Suitable for people who enjoy noir detective fiction in the vein of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler.

Video Reviews

No video review.

Customer reviews

Write a Review

Be the first to review this app. Write a Review

Forum

Ask a question

Be the first question this app.

Users Community

+ Connect to community


The information may be outdated (2011-03-27 04:40:52). For actual information go to iTunes

Related to «The Galton Case (by Ross Macdonald)» applications

The Leavenworth Case, by Anna Katharine Green

The Leavenworth Case, by Anna Katharine Green

The Leavenworth Caseby Anna Katharine GreenHoratio Leavenworth is a New York merchant whose material wealth is matched by his eminence in the community and reputation for good works. He is also the guardian of two striking nieces who share his Fifth Avenue mansion. Mary, her uncle's favorite, … more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
The Lerouge Case, by Émile Gaboriau

The Lerouge Case, by Émile Gaboriau

The Lerouge Caseby mile GaboriauExcerpt:"Those who anticipated the discovery of a crime, were unhappily not deceived. The commissary was convinced of this as soon as he crossed the threshold. Everything in the first room pointed with a sad eloquence to the recent presence of a malefactor. The… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books

The Lassa Ward: One Man's Fight Against One of the World's Deadliest…

The Lassa Ward: One Man's Fight Against One of the World's Deadliest DiseasesRoss DonaldsonSt. Martin's PressMay 12, 2009Ross Donaldson is one of just a few who have ventured into dark territory of a country ravaged by war to study one of the worlds most deadly diseases. As an… more

Price: $14.99 | Category: Books
The Princess and the Goblin, by George MacDonald

The Princess and the Goblin, by George MacDonald

The Princess and the Goblinby George MacDonaldPrincess Irene and her newfound friend Curdie battle the goblin king and queen, along with their foul son Prince Froglip, and save the kingdom with old mining knowledge, some thread, and the help of Irene's magical great-great grandmother.About… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
The Princess and Curdie, by George MacDonald

The Princess and Curdie, by George MacDonald

The Princess and Curdieby George MacDonaldA sequel to The Princess and the Goblin: Princess Irene and Curdie are a year or two older, and must overthrow a set of corrupt ministers who are poisoning Irene's father, the king. About MacDonald:George MacDonald (10 December 1824 18 September 1905)… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
The Case of the Singing Sword by Tee Morris

The Case of the Singing Sword by Tee Morris

"Chicago, 1929. There are a thousand stories in the naked city; and when you're a dwarf at four-foot-one, they all look that much taller."It is The Era of Prohibition, where crime runs rampant in the streets and a city divided into territories serves as the ultimate prize. Somewhere… more

Price: $4.99 | Category: Books
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald (audiobook)

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald (audiobook)

Audiobook: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald [unabridged] Duration: 1 hourABOUT THE BOOK:The curious Case of Benjamin Button, a 1921 short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald, now a major motion picture, features Benjamin Button, who, born as an old man much to the dismay and… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald (ebook)

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald (ebook)

Release Special Price The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is a short story written by F. Scott Fitzgerald and first published in Colliers Magazine during 1921. It subsequently was anthologized in his book, Tales of the Jazz Age, which occasionally is published as The Curious Case of… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald-iRead Series

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald-iRead Series

Enjoy another ebook in the "iRead Series". iRead gives you text zooming as well as landscape reading views. Be sure to search for other iRead Series books to enjoy a wide variety of ebooks. Go on an adventureLearn something newSolve a crime easily through your mobile device.Benjamin… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Entertainment

View all related to: The Galton Case (by Ross Macdonald) applications



Mobile Version
iApps4you.com - is iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad apps search engine and not been authorized, sponsored or approved by Apple Inc.
Copyright © 2017 iApps4you.com.
96 ms.